Day 3: Being Different

Standard

(Note: This blog was written in my prayer journal before I got the blog, so that is why the count of days may be wrong. Thanks!)

Well after a day by the pool with my best friend and getting a horrible sunburn, I am going to jump right in. This devotional comes from kendrathaler-hair.blogspot.com. She’s Apostolic and her story about how our dress makes us feel isolated and different struck home with me. She turned my mindset around when she talked about how she was walking through her college campus and it broke her heart to see no other girls like her (Kendra, I can relate so much!! I never see any other “skirt girls” on my university campus either!). I however, never really thought about how sad I should be for these girls. I focus on how much I stand out and look different but I never thought about those girls who will probably never know the real truth of God! I feel so badly for those girls who won’t know You and I wish I was brave and strong enough to reach out to them. Also, Kendra talked of how we should thank God that we do not blend in because we get to be a witness for God! Our dress and actions should never make me ashamed because I am made in Your likeness and image. By acting a certain way and showing respect for our bodies we sending a signal out to others that tells people that we are Yours, and that is something to praise!

~Kendra chose 2 Corithians 4:3-7 for the Bible verses, here are some snippets: “For we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus the Lord, and ourselves your servants for Jesus’ sake.” “But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.”

Lord, help me to represent You proudly and without shame. Help me to be brave enough to reach out with Your word to others. Let me be content to stand out for You and not succumb to worldly things that tempt me.

❤ Passionate Pentecostal

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

