Day 6: Pressing the Pause Button

Standard

In this world it is a constant go here, go there, oh I need to run this errand, and of course my Facebook absolutely MUST be attended to. Sometimes we get so “busy” that we push You aside. With my weekend spent frantically studying, (and yes, freaking out did occur), I was worried this would be that type of situation for me God. Then, like always, you made a way and calmed my fears. You are so reliable God.

Here was the scenario yesterday: I was walking from my apartment to campus carrying three bags and a giant tripod (Don’t ask. Okay, okay, I have a drama class that I had to record a monologue for!). Anyway, I had to turn in the video equipment by a certain time or get a $30 fine per hour, which I definitely can’t afford. I was doing the typical head down, plodding along when I glanced up because a jogger needed to pass me. You used that upward glance to reach me. You use so many mundane things to touch our lives; how many of them have I missed? When I glanced up I saw gorgeous green trees, sniffed the smell of gardenias, and saw the bright blue sky spread out above me. Yet again, You hit me with a revelation. I could have been using that long, tedious, boring walk to talk to You! Instead of worrying about stuff that couldn’t be dealt with anyway while walking, I could be enjoying the beauty you put on this earth and getting an intimate moment with You.

Well I heard Your call, so for the rest of my walk I prayed to You and gave thanks. It was quite a long walk uphill in midday so I was just tired and gross, but I turned that into praise to You in that moment. Thank you God for giving me healthy legs to make it up that hill, thank You for no rain, thank You for giving me lungs to gulp down breath, thank You for the air conditioning I was looking forward to. So many seemingly tiny things to us, but to someone across the world or down the street, those were things worthy of thanksgiving! I overlook so much that You give me and I am so ungrateful some days. I pray that You continue to raise my eyes from the ground and show me Your glory. 

We should take advantage of those random moments in our lives when we think we are swamped but there are really minutes of peace. Really there is always time for Jesus. Stop surfing Facebook for just a teeny tiny five minutes and thank God for the luxury of internet to be able to connect to all of your friends. Turn off your television and read a single chapter in the Bible, they are not long! How much more would our lives be blessed if we reached out to Him and showed Him a portion of the love He deserves? 

1 John 5:14-15- “And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: and if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him.”

Now I am off to pull basically an all-nighter for this biology exam tomorrow morning that is worth %50 of my grade! Please pray I do well, I know I will be! 🙂

❤ Passionate Pentecostal

Leave a Reply

